Make sure they are saved

by

“I believe one problem in many Christian homes is that the children have made professions of faith, but have never actually been born again. … A child who has a divinely created new nature within his or her heart will be spiritually sympathetic to being trained in righteousness. … Therefore, it is of utmost importance that we carefully instruct and couch our children about salvation. …

[I have known of many young people who] professed to be saved in their childhood; but in reality, they were never born again. They went through the motions and walked an aisle. They learned the language, but they were never regenerated. …

As a boy of five, I had gone (or been taken) forward in an evangelistic meeting. I do not know who the preacher was. I do not remember what the sermon was about. In fact, as I recall, I slept through much of the service. I have absolutely no recollection of who prayed with me or how I was dealt with in the prayer room. …After that meeting, I was coached to tell others that I had gotten saved. Therefore, over the next fifteen years, if someone asked me if I was saved, I would reply, ‘Oh yes. I was saved when I was five years old.’ Now, I believe that five-year-old children can be saved, but I do not believe that I was saved then. If it had not been for faithful parents who continued to pray for me over those years, I may not have been genuinely converted when I was in Bible college. I believe in my case and in many others, there was a lack of conviction about sin and its consequences in both heart and mind. It is a crucial prerequisite to the new birth. …”

(Training Your Children to Turn out Right by David Sorenson, pp 156-167)

Leave a Reply

